A positive path for spiritual living

2017 Fall Series Description

Unity of Auburn Seven Week Fall Series

10-8-17 to 11-19-17


Based on the Book:

Happiness: A Guide to Developing Life’s Most Important Skill

By Matthieu Ricard

In this groundbreaking book, Matthieu Ricard makes a passionate case for happiness as a goal that deserves as least as much energy as any other in our lives. Wealth? Fitness? Career success? How can we possibly place these above true and lasting well-being? Drawing from works of fiction and poetry, Western philosophy, Buddhist beliefs, scientific research, and personal experience, Ricard weaves an inspirational and forward-looking account of how we can begin to rethink our realities in a fast-moving modern world. With its revelatory lessons and exercises, Happiness is an eloquent and stimulating guide to a happier life.


  • Books may be purchased through Amazon.
  • Please remember to use Amazon Smile to make your purchase and choose Unity of Auburn as the beneficiary.
  • You may also order through our Spiritual Resource Center and get free shipping to your home.
  • Each Sunday a discussion group will meet at 11:30 in the Youth Ed area.


Suggested Reading Schedule:

(We also highly recommend doing the exercises contained in each chapter)


Week 1: October 8, 2017

Color: Purple

Talk Topic: Happiness: A Guide to Developing Life’s Most Important Skill

Read: Chapters 1 – 3


Week 2: October 15, 2017

Color: Red

Talk Topic: From Surviving to Thriving

Read: Chapters 4 – 6


Week 3: October 22, 2017

Color: Pink

Talk Topic: Happiness and Emotional Intelligence

Read: Chapters 7 – 9


Week 4: October 29, 2017

Color: Orange

Talk Topic: Remedies For Disturbing Emotions

Read: Chapters 10 – 13


Week 5: November 5, 2017

Color: Green

Talk Topic: The Great Leap to Freedom

Read: Chapters 14 – 16


Week 6: November 12, 2017

Color: Blue

Talk Topic: Happiness: A Practical Application

Read: Chapters 17 – 20


Week 7: November 19, 2017

Color: Gold

Talk Topic: Happiness, Life and Death

Read: Chapters 21 – 24